India: Where I’m Going

My visa has been processed and is being Fedexed back to me. I’m starting to check things off my predeparture to-do list. The trip is becoming real in my head rather than a far-off dream.

Friends have begun asking me where exactly I’ll be going, so I thought I’d show you.

India has 28 states and is roughly one-third the size of the United States. [Source: CIA World Factbook.] Since this is my first trip to India, the Taj Mahal is a must-see. After that, I found out about an elephant festival which determined what month I’d be there. Both the Taj and the elephant festival were not far from New Delhi. Then I started researching to find other sights that interested me. Most of these happened to be in Rajasthan.

I’ll spend a few days in Delhi at the beginning and end of the tour. Most of my four weeks will be spent touring the state of Rajasthan. The Taja Mahal is in Agra, Uttar Pradesh, 253 kilometers (157 miles) from Delhi. It will be one of the last stops on the return to Delhi.

The map shows the states of India and the primary language spoken in each area. Rajasthan is an area where Hindi is widely spoken. Both Hindi and English are recognized as India’s official languages. I don’t know any Hindi, but I’m sure I’ll pick up a few words once I’m there.

2 thoughts on “India: Where I’m Going

  1. Now I can follow along with you as you make your way through India. I can hardly wait for your trip to begin! (Your header photo is fabulous!)

  2. Well, you’ll at least have an idea of where I am. I don’t think I’ll be taking any time out to search for an internet cafe. Yes, the header photo is lovely. Hope I get something that good of my own!

Comments are closed.