Itinerary Highlights

Namaste India Tours offers a standard 16-day Rajasthan tour package.  My trip is based on their itinerary. I simply added more time (I’ll be touring for 26 days, not 16) and a few items of particular interest to me. Here’s some of what’s on the agenda. There are temples, forts, palaces and museums at each site, so I didn’t list them all:

Day 1-3:  Arrive in New Delhi. Spend the first few days exploring Delhi. Delhi highlights include Qutb Minar, Laxmi Naryam Temple and the Red Fort.

Bikaner Camel Farm: photo by Dieser Benutzer.

Day 5-6:  Arrive in Bikaner. Tour the city, visit camel breeding farm, Junagarh Fort, Lalgarh Palace and Museum.

Mata Karni Rat Temple: photo by Shakti

Visit Mata Karni Devi Temple (rat temple). (They look like mice to me.)

Jaisalmer: photo by Valentina Pierantonio

Day 7-9:  Explore Jaisalmer.

Day 10-11:  Explore Jodphur, the Blue City. Shopping reputed to be excellent here, with much lower prices than Delhi. Side trip to Salawas, a weaving village known for making dhurries (small rugs).

City Palace, Udaipur: photo by Geri from Biel/Bienne, Schweiz

Day 14:  Udaipur, the Venice of India.

Indian Elephant at Jaipur: photo by Faraz Usmani.

Day 17-21 Jaipur. Here’s where the Elephant Festival will happen. Seriously, if I see anything like the above, I’ll wet myself!  Holi Festival is the day after the Elephant Festival.

Hawa Mahal Palace, Jaipur. Photo from Wikimedia.

Lots to see in Jaipur, also known as The Pink City. Side trip to Sanganer to see how textiles are block printed by hand.

Taj Mahal:  photo by Yann.

Day 23-24 Agra. Visit Taj Mahal and various forts and temples.

One thought on “Itinerary Highlights

Comments are closed.