The Crafts Neighborhood


As we walked down a street in the inner city, Raj was hoping to take me to a textiles shop he knew, where he would get a commission on whatever I bought. He was disappointed when I didn’t have any interest. However, he did know some silversmiths who made jewelry in their home. I didn’t think I’d be buying any jewelry, but I was interested in seeing the silver shop and taking a few photos of the jewelry making process.


Raj took me to a neighborhood far from the touristy downtown where lots of items were being made by various craftsmen.


The craftsmen didn’t mind at all having their photos taken.


Neither did these neighborhood gentlemen, who were delighted that I asked them.


Most of us don’t realize that those nice gold earrings we bought were probably made by a guy in a workshop like this in some remote corner of India.

