Holi

Holi (pronounced “holy” rather than “holly”) is a Hindu spring festival celebrated by throwing colored powder at people or smearing it on them and their clothes.  At first, getting poofed in the face by a handful of powder and getting it in my eyes and up my nose didn’t sound like something I’d be interested in participating in.  Also, in some areas some (meaning teenaged boys) take it too far and throw rocks.

Prem knocked at the screen door to my room at the Ridhi Sidhi Guest House, holding something suspicious behind his back.

“What’s that?”

“Breakfast,” he said grinning. He showed me the bag of fuschia colored powder. “I chose this color especially for you.”

We smeared a little color on each other’s faces, hugged and wished each other a happy Holi. A few minutes later, we heard the drumming and singing of a group of people celebrating outside. Prem went out to check out what was happening.

“Stay here,” he said.

A few minutes later, satisfied that there were no hooligans out there, he appeared at my window with a huge smile and new colors added to his face.

“Come!”

I grabbed my camera and went to join the madness.






One thought on “Holi

Comments are closed.