Akbar’s Tomb


Akbar is one of the most interesting of the Mughal leaders in India’s history. He was the son of Emperor Humayun and was only 13 when he became India’s leader when his father died in 1556 .  His tomb  had the most beautiful interior of those I visited.

Entrance Gate to the grounds of Akbar's Tomb. It looks very similar to the tomb of Itimad ud Daulah.

I was not going to use a guide for this visit, but one of the government guides near the entrance attached himself to me even after several very firm refusals on my part. He turned out to be one of the best guides of the trip!


He was extremely helpful, funny and didn’t talk too much. He took my arm and helped me up and down stairs.

Unlike the guy at Fatehpur Sikri, this guide didn’t order me around but actually helped me by showing me places where I could get especially good angles and interesting shots.

A group of tourists asked me to pose for a photo with the family.

Akbar's Tomb.

There were huge gardens surrounding the tomb. My guide pointed out that there were deer on the grounds. I would have missed them entirely if not for him.


Lying in the grass at the far end of the grounds, these white spotted deer were barely visible.  With the help of the zoom, they’re much more noticeable.


Closer to the tomb entrance, a boy was feeding a crippled black deer, encouraging it to stay close by so I could get some photos. This is the kind of service you tip for.

Entrance to Akbar's Tomb.

As at all the other tombs, the water features had been drained. Perhaps this was the time of year when they were all being cleaned.


The interior was so beautiful, even surpassing the interior of the Taj Mahal.


Tourists at Akbar’s Tomb.


My guide had really enhanced this visit. His fee was only 500 rupees (about US$10), but I was so happy with his services that I gave him another 500 as a tip. I also talked to Namaste India Tours about him, and they now have the man’s name and phone number. I hope he gets some extra business from my recommendation.

This entry was posted on September 26, 2011, in India. Bookmark the permalink.