It’s Not As Easy As It Looks

Out of curiosity I’ve looked up flights between Shimla and Delhi, and from Delhi to Udaipur. There are flights from Shimla to Delhi, but only three days a week. They don’t coincide well with flights from Delhi to Udaipur. Sometimes the layover is 21 hours! Can you imagine it taking two days to get from New York to San Francisco in 2012?

In addition, some of the domestic Indian airlines have reputations for not being so reliable. This is India. It’s not going to be easy.

I’ve also looked at the train schedules. It seems crazy that taking the train would be faster, but it looks like it is. Checking all the ins and outs and connections is not my idea of fun.

Prem may have some ideas on how to get me to Delhi, but he’s a driver, not a travel agent. I may just spend some time with a travel agent in Shimla  who’ll know the best way to get me all the way to Udaipur.

6 thoughts on “It’s Not As Easy As It Looks

    • Shalu, I’ve checked out a few websites for domestic India flights. The problem is, not all of the airlines you mentioned service the Shimla airport. In fact, only one or two of them do. I’ll see what a travel agent can do for me when I get to Shimla.

  1. Hi Marie,
    I think you will have to get to the nearest city which is Chandigarh by bus/car and then try out a flight to Udaipur. Though I would suggest you to go by the train and buy a Tatkal ticket for the same.

Comments are closed.