Safdarjung’s Tomb

After Poonam’s wedding, Prem and I returned to Delhi where I booked a flight to Udaipur. We had two days left in Delhi for sightseeing after a number of errands were done. On my must see list was Safdarjung’s Tomb.

IMG_6978a ss

Born in Persia, Safdarjung was a powerful prime minister of a weak emperor. His son had the tomb built in 1754. It is the last of the mughal garden tombs inspired by Humayun’s Tomb.

IMG_6982ss

Safdarjung’s Tomb is not very popular with tourists, which I don’t understand. It’s a beautiful structure with nice gardens. What’s not to like? It was nice that it wasn’t swarming over with visitors, but it’s too bad that so few people come to enjoy it. I was glad I came.

IMG_6997 ss

The understated tomb marker.

IMG_7003ss

Some of the original inlaid semiprecious stones have been pried out and looted.

IMG_7007ss

7009ss

IMG_7005ss

IMG_7027ss

4 thoughts on “Safdarjung’s Tomb

Comments are closed.