Jama Masjid

IMG_7050ss

Prem arranged for his friend, Mr. Kalu, a rickshaw driver, to take us around Chandni Chowk, an insanely crowded neighborhood in Old Delhi. First stop was the Jama Masjid, which I hadn’t seen on the last trip.

IMG_7057a ss

Delhi’s Jama Masjid is the largest mosque in India. It was commissioned by Shah Jahan, who was responsible for the creation of the Taj Mahal and the Red Fort.

IMG_7059ss

It was nearly 4:00 p.m. when we arrived, which was prayer time. Only Muslims are allowed in at that time, so we waited at the top of the steps until prayers were over at 4:30.

The courtyard can hold around 25,000 people.

The courtyard can hold around 25,000 people.

Shoes are left at the entrance outside. I was wearing slacks with a short sleeved shirt and was given a large long sleeved dress to wear over my clothes to cover my arms while I visited. I didn’t have a head scarf or veil but was not asked to cover my head.

At the entrance they sold camera batteries and memory chips as well as guide books.

IMG_7076-77a ss

