A Morning Walk

Pushker was to meet me at 10 a.m., but I woke up early. I feasted on the scrumptious view from the hotel restaurant as well as tea and toast. Then I took a walk to familiarize myself with the neighborhood.

IMG_7385ss

On my way out I stopped for a few words with the friendly hotel dog who was always sleeping on the front step. His incredibly bucked lower fangs made him look odd, but he was a sweetie.

IMG_7236ss

I surveyed the neighborhood. Across the street was a bookstore, but it was too early and it wasn’t open yet.

IMG_7245ss

But a tailor was at work just up the street. Too bad, I didn’t need to have anything mended or made. He was busy and I didn’t want to disturb him, so I didn’t stop to chat.

IMG_7239ss

To the right of the bookstore was a narrow street that led down to the lake. At the edge of the lake there are often ghats, steps which lead into the water where people bathe and do laundry. I thought I’d see if this street led to some, where there might be some early morning activity. But first I discovered treasure: it was on the wall on the right side of the street.

IMG_7250ss

A fantastical mural began just outside the Mewar Haveli Hotel doorstep and went all the way down to the bend in the street. This is only half of it!

IMG_7263ss

The “RJ” on the license plate means this vehicle is registered in the state of Rajasthan. The 27 means it’s registered in Udaipur.

There were hotels and a few boutiques at the end of this lane, but no ghats. Just someone also taking a morning walk.

There was also someone who wanted to latch onto me and was asking me too many personal questions. I know Indians are curious about visitors, but in Udaipur, they see visitors all the time so it’s not a novelty. When someone on the street that I don’t know starts asking me too many questions about where I’m staying and that’s mostly all he’s asking about, that’s a red flag. I avoided his questions and returned to the Mewar. It was almost time to meet Pushker.

IMG_7268ss

The Mewar Haveli Hotel.

2 thoughts on “A Morning Walk

Comments are closed.