Raj Bagh

IMG_8409a ss

A depiction of an elephant battle just outside the entrance gate.

I mentioned to Rafiq last November that I had enjoyed lal maas (a lamb dish with a red sauce) on my first visit at a restaurant in the old city. His eyes lit up. It’s one of his favorite dishes. He promised to take me on my next visit to where they serve the best lal maas in Udaipur. That happened last month, when we all went to Raj Bagh.

IMG_8416a ss

Raj Bagh (king’s garden), a beautiful garden restaurant at the edge of Lake Fateh Sagar.

IMG_8417a

Beautifully carved marble table top.

IMG_8414a ss

The view from our table.

IMG_8423a

A romantic spot for dinner.

Surprisingly, the mosquitos weren’t overwhelming. There were some, mostly taking sips from Shahi’s and my feet. The waiter put a mosquito coil under the table, and that took care of it.

IMG_8425a

Bharti, Nirmal and Mohit

This was the first time I met the wives. I had seen Bharti at Nirmal’s cousin’s wedding last fall, but it was a busy occasion, and I hadn’t been able to spend any time with her.  She doesn’t speak much English, but she understands a little.  She is shy, but she was as charming as she is beautiful.

IMG_8424a

Rafiq and Shahi

I’d spoken to Shahi over the phone before my visit. She’s a lecturer at a teacher’s college and speaks English very well. She’s also an excellent Hindi teacher! She explained things to me very well whenever I had a question.

IMG_8430a

The lal maas was as good as anticipated. The service was excellent, and the company was even better.

5 thoughts on “Raj Bagh

Comments are closed.