Udaipur Spice Market

IMG_9215a

At the spice market you buy whatever quantity of spice you need and I assume take it home in a plastic bag. I didn’t see any spices for sale in containers of any kind. Even though it looked like a wholesale market, it wouldn’t surprise me if you could buy small quantities for home use. This is India. Anything is possible.

IMG_9216a

Ground jeera (cumin), haldi (turmeric) and mirchi (cayenne pepper and black pepper) are commonly used in Indian dishes.

IMG_9209a

There were lentils in several colors, beans and grains I didn’t recognize, but no rice.

IMG_9203a

Chili outnumbered the other spices many times over.

IMG_9208a

Jeera seeds, front row far left. The rest, I have no idea.

If it hadn’t been so hot, I would have been more inclined to ask what were the things I didn’t recognize. But since I’m not a foodie, not writing an article on food, and didn’t intend to buy any of these, I did not. Still, it was a fascinating place to wander around. I’d love to return another time when it isn’t sweltering.

IMG_9205a

IMG_9201a

Raw sugar.

 

4 thoughts on “Udaipur Spice Market

    • At first I thought the raw sugar might have been more black soap, but Rafiq clued me in. When I got closer, I could smell the sweetness, and there were some very interested wasps hovering around.

    • Oddly enough, there wasn’t that much aroma to the place. There was definitely no smell of sweet spices such as cloves, cinnamon or nutmeg. I only saw cinnamon bark (see next to last photo) and didn’t see cloves at all. This market seemed to have 80% red chili, 5% cumin, 5% turmeric and a smattering of other spices. But it was very interesting and very colorful. I definitely want to return and explore some more!

Comments are closed.